Board of Directors

Joe Condon Chairperson

Joe joined the Board in 2019. Joe’s expertise includes IT, Governance and Policy. He is currently Chairperson of Young Parkinson’s Ireland. Joe was diagnosed with Young Parkinson’s Onset in 2013.

Dr. Richard Walsh Vice Chairman

Dr Richard Walsh joined the Board in 2017. Dr. Walsh began his training in neurology with a Research Fellowship in Movement Disorders and Dystonia with Prof. Michael Hutchinson in St. Vincent’s University Hospital. Since 2012, Dr. Walsh has run the Tallaght Movement Disorders Unit where he works with a Parkinson’s Disease Nurse Specialist and a Movement Disorders Fellow.

Maeve Caldwell Research and Innovation

Maeve is a Professor in Neuroscience in Trinity College, she joined the Board in 2019. Maeve’s other interests include Stem Cells and Regeneration, she was also a Senior Research Fellow in the University of Bristol.

Dennis O’Riordan Treasurer

Denis joined the Board in 2019. He is now acting Treasurer. Denis has many years experience in the banking sector as a Senior Manager. Denis lives with Parkinson’s Disease and also had Deep Brian Stimulation as part of his treatment.

Michael Burke Director

Michael is Chairperson of the PAI Board since 2019. He has served two terms as a director to the Board. Michael is also Chairperson of the Tipperary Branch. Michael lives with Parkinson’s Disease.


Michael O’Brien Secretary / Acting Treasurer

Michael joined the Board in 2019. Michael has extensive experience in retail management. Since retiring immersed himself in many volunteering roles both locally and also with the County Council.

Miriam Jenkinson  Director National Office

Miriam joined the Board in 2019. Miriam is a retired primary School Principal, wife of David and mother of four.

Other Key Personnel
Michael O’Brien Company Secretary
Pauline Mahady Helpline manager
Nicola Kavanagh Parkinson’s Nurse
Sabrina Fagan Fundraising and Communications